CMIG Workshop – March 22nd — still room left!

March 14, 2013

There is still room left in the CMIG e-books workshop on Friday, March 22nd at the State Library in Columbus.

The program will include:

Registration starts: 9:00am
Program: 9:30am-3:00pm

Registration includes light breakfast & lunch. Vegetarian options will be available for lunch.
During the morning we will have a panel presentation and discussion on the following topics:
ebrary Academic Collection – Jessica Grim, Oberlin College
ebrary to EBSCO: Declaring a Preference- Jennifer Bazeley, Miami Univ
OSUs PDA Program – Dracine Hodges
PDA, Kent’s Experience – Kay Downey
We’re going to devote the afternoon to an introduction of the eBook pilot. The pilot will be introduced by Julie Gammon and Karen Wilhoit followed by an OL-YBP presentation.

The day will end with a small-group questions and answer sessions.

The afternoon speaker list includes:
Karen Wilhoit, WSU
Julie Gammon, AkronU
Julie Blake, OhioLINK
Kit Clatanoff, YBP (Collection Development Manager Central US)
John Elliot, YBP (VP US Sales)
Stephen Hyndman, YBP (Senior Digital Sales Manager)

To register go to:

We hope you can join us!

ALAO Election begins tomorrow

March 14, 2013

The 2013 Academic Library Association of Ohio election will be open from MARCH 15 through April 15.

During that time, please go to:
to see the candidates’ bio’s and cast your ballot. You will be prompted for your ALAO login. There is a link for anyone who has forgotten his/her password.

Please remind your colleagues who are members to vote and any who might need to renew their memberships to do so.

TEDSIG Spring workshp

March 4, 2013

ALAO’s TEDSIG will be holding its spring workshop on Tuesday, May 21, 2013 at Ohionet in Columbus.

This year’s theme is “Organizational Change in Libraries”.

We are pleased to announce the following speakers, who will present their experience with change in the workplace:
Nancy Beals, Coordinator for Acquisitions and Electronic Resources (Wayne State University Libraries)
Gwen Evans, Executive Director (OhioLINK)
Melanie McGurr (Instruction & Access Librarian, the Ohio State University Libraries).

Details regarding registration and workshop times will be announced via listserv and on TEDSIG’s website ( in April.