2009 Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award nominations sought

August 14, 2009

Please see the updated page on the Web site, and send your nominations to Past President Karen Wilhoit no later than October 1, 2009.  This is ALAO’s highest award, and a great opportunity to recognize the achievements and contributions of an ALAO member.

Apply now for the ALAO Continuing Education Grant!

November 24, 2008

The ALAO Continuing Education Grant Program encourages library personnel to improve their skills and to develop new ones.

Grant is awarded once a year to offset the cost of participating in continuing education opportunities. Applicants must be current members of ALAO. Recipients will be selected by ALAO’s Professional Development Committee (PDC).

Deadline: Jan 15 2009

Click here to view application.

Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award: 2008 Call for Nominations

September 18, 2008

The ALAO Awards Committee seeks nominations for the Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award.  This award recognizes an individual who (1) has been an ALAO member for at least 5 years, and (2) who has promoted academic libraries and librarianship not only on his or her own campus, but also within the state.  The award also recognizes someone who has provided leadership in the promotion of ALAO through service such as committee membership, executive board office, or acting as an officer on behalf of an interest group.  The Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award honors the memory of Jay Ladd, a founding member of ALAO in the early 1970’s.

This opportunity is a wonderful way to recognize a colleague who has provided leadership in ALAO and contributed to the profession.  The recipient of this year’s award will receive an honorary 5-year membership in ALAO and will be recognized at the 34th ALAO Annual Conference at the Roberts Conference Centre on October 24th, 2008.

You may access the nomination form from the ALAO web site at:


The following information is needed about your nominee:

  • Name of nominee
  • Nominee’s position title
  • Nominee’s college or university
  • Nominee’s ALAO activities
  • Your reasons for nominating this person
  • Your name and contact information, including phone and email

NOTE: You may nominate more than one person.  Your reasons for nominating your candidate(s) for the Jay Ladd Distinguished Service Award will be especially valuable to the awards committee.

Please send your nominations via US mail or as an email attachment by October 3rd, 2008 to:

Douglas P. Morrison
P.O. Box #234
Apple Creek, OH. 44606

About the Award

Updated February 19, 2008

This award is designed to recognize those ALAO members who promote academic libraries and librarianship not only on their own campuses, but within the state. It also recognizes those who provide leadership in the promotion of ALAO through service such as committee membership, executive board office, or interest group chairmanship.  In 1998 the Executive Board voted to rename the ALAO Distinguished Service Award to honor Jay Ladd, a former Ohio State University librarian who was instrumental in forming ALAO.  Jay died in early 1997.

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Service Award

  • 2007  Betsy Blankenship
  • 2006  Lois Szudy
  • 2005  Ella Copeland
  • 2004  Ximena Chrisagis
  • 2003  Rob Withers
  • 2002  Douglas Morrison
  • 2001  Alison Ricker
  • 2000  Pat Walker
  • 1999  Greg Pronevitz
  • 1998  Margy Kramer
  • 1997  Sara Bushong
  • 1996  Susan Phillips
  • 1995  Julie Houston
  • 1994  Kathy Wright
  • 1993  Ann Allan
  • 1992  Peri Switzer
  • 1991  Linda Landis
  • 1990  Sr. Deborah Harmeling
  • 1989  Jay Ladd
  • 1988  Charles Maurer
  • 1987  Martha Laury
  • 1986  Marian Winner
  • 1985  Hannah McCauley
  • 1984  Virginia Tiefel